The New York Bass Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to bass fishing (but completely obsessed now) and only have a few poles (4 to be exact). I have two newly purchased beginner baitcasters that I'm learning to use (practice practice practice). I have a light spinning reel that I plan to learn drop shotting with. Just gettin started means I don't have a big budget to buy new poles until maybe Christmas.

I also have a 5'6" medium action Shakespeare ugly stik spin caster. What could I possibly use this for? Oddly enough I caught my first bass (4.75#) a few weeks ago on this rod with an inline spinner. Suggestions other than seeing if lightning strikes twice with a light spinner bait? I plan on fishing from boats almost exclusively just because I love being on the water.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
72 Posts
The only use I have for an ugly stick is as a tomato stake!
Cmon, give the guy a break! :) When you're on a budget, you use what ya got till you can afford better. I'm no expert by any means, but I know a lot of guys throw cranks with glass rods, so maybe you could use it for that?
I think sometimes we get too caught up in matching the rod to the lure/presentation. That's great if you can afford it, but some guys can't afford multiple rods so you make due with what you have.
Just my 2 cents worth.

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
That is some funny stuff above but if a poll was taken you'd find many would not be willing but truth be told many have began using an ugly stick unless they were introduced early by a more experienced angler that afforded them a better rod or they learned using someone else rod and went on to buy one better .