The New York Bass Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My buddy and I started night fishing a few days ago with some decent success. Last night, while in the process of getting skunked I remembered to check out the solunar fishing tables that I have never used before because I rarely night fish. I was wondering if any of you guys use the solunar fishing tables and if you can give me some insight on them. Some people say 45 minutes before and after the moon rise/set is the best time, while others say its high moon/ underfoot. After checking out numerous tables from different sites last night, it seems like there is little consistency between them. If any of you respond to this post and believe in the tables, I would love if you could send a link to the site you use. Thanks!

·
Registered
671 Posts
No idea about specific times during the day or night, but the only correlation between the charts and the fishing I've ever noticed was this summer in Canada. Fished the whole week and at the start of the week, in a poor moon period the fish we caught were a small average size. As the week went on and the charts said the conditions were improving, the fish average size definitely improved. I really don't think it was that we were dialling in to a big fish bite as we were generally fishing the same areas with the same methods on the whole.

·
Administrator
21,701 Posts
all waters have their own "personality" , so to speak, with feeding times, and they can be consistent in certain periods of the year...these, however , will vary from water to water, and so, you really have to learn the rhythms of each body of water over time....

·
Dragging Bass
2,657 Posts