The New York Bass Forums banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, this is my first post.

My question would be if anyone ever fishes from a kayak? I got into kayak fishing about a year ago and now I solely fish out of one. I haven't noticed too many people using them aound my neck of th woods (Orange County, New York). Any thoughts?

-Rick

·
Registered
2,668 Posts
I've been fishing out of a kayak for at least 10 years now. Lots of fun. Rough on the back and the rear end but lots of fun. I can't take much tackle with me and usually don't go out for more than 3-4 hours, but it is a lot of fun. Especially when you get bass of 2 pounds or more and they start pulling you around. Great for small lakes and ponds, too.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been fishing out of a kayak for at least 10 years now. Lots of fun. Rough on the back and the rear end but lots of fun. I can't take much tackle with me and usually don't go out for more than 3-4 hours, but it is a lot of fun. Especially when you get bass of 2 pounds or more and they start pulling you around. Great for small lakes and ponds, too.
One of the things I love about fishing from a kayak is the fact that I can't bring so much stuff. I find it makes for less stress for me personally with not having to bring everything I own into a boat. I do find the same thing, after a few hours my back is killing me. What kind of kayak to you fish out of?

·
God Awful Angler
652 Posts
Rough on the back and the rear end but lots of fun.
Any chance you can go into detail about how rough it is on your back? I was just informed ,again, that my favorite spot is letting in kayaks this year and plan on getting on ASAP. I blew out my lower back on my last boat trip thursday before the holiday so I am a little concerned now with being bent over all day- while not at work or doing my taxes! (get it?)

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5