The New York Bass Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I am quite new to fishing in USA so I would like to ask you guys to please take it easy, if some questions are out line.

Last Summer I did some exploring in Harriman state park without much luck, and now I am thinking to take a trip to the lakes again in the following week or so.

My question is actually for those who are from the area or fishes there.

Can you guys please advise if lakes at Harrimans are still frozen or it's an open water now?
I live in Brooklyn, so it's quite a trip for me, just to go and see for my self.

Also assuming that it's open water, is there a chance of shore fishing or I should live that idea till it gets much warmer?

As for lures and bait would you suggest combination of live bait and lures or something in particular?

At this point I am hunting for fishing spots and if lucky most likely it will be catch and release, so I am not planning for any particular species of fish.

Any advise or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much.

·
Nice lil fishy !!!!
1,500 Posts
They are frozen over still.

·
Registered
1,926 Posts
Just a heads-up on early season black bass regulations, especially since you mentioned live bait.

December 1 - Friday preceding the 3rd Saturday in June Catch and release only Artificial lures only

Use, Possession and Transportation of Purchased Baitfish