The New York Bass Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ask your local "friendly pharmacist" to save the dessicant canisters from any manufacturer medicine bottles...

When you store your hardbaits, or hooks, in the Planos, throw a couple of these in there with the baits...You dont need one in every compartment, but the more the better...These canisters will "adsorb" moisture and help prevent rust in the long run...

I have been experimenting with this for two years now, and find that my hooks and the overall condition of my bait hardware is lasting much better than it use to...

Be sure to instruct the pharmacist to store the dessicants in a sealed bottle until you pick them up from him...Because if exposed to ambient air, they will adsorb atmospheric moisture and fill up before you can get your hands on them...

Good long term protection in somewhat sealed tackle boxes...

Mark D

·
Banned
3,510 Posts
Gee !!!!! Anyone know a "friendly pharmacist" I could speak to ?????????????

Maybe one that works near my office.??

·
Administrator
21,693 Posts
and while your'e at it Mark, can you throw a few 'roids into the containers for me! LOL.......

·
Registered
195 Posts
Some dessicants can be rejuvinated by drying the packets out in a warm oven before re-using.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Pete,

You scratch my back i'll scratch yours...I'm looking for a five bedroom, 4 bath, 2 fireplace, 2 car garage, lakefront house for less than 100 K...lol...Come and see me anytime...

John, if you "buff up" any more than you are, you'll have to buy all new clothes...Besides the roids can shrink the pee pee...

Good tip mac...I never tried that...But it makes perfect sense that the moisture dries off and they become reusable...Thanks, and welcome to the board...

Mark D

·
LM BASS
2,588 Posts
Mark,
And does that house need to be in Yonkers?
How 'bout that one behind Nathans near the fenced in pond?