The New York Bass Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone please explain the difference between IM6, IM7, IM8 and the HMG classes of graphite rods?
I've seen IM6 rods for sale for as little as $20.00 and as high as $50 or $60. Does it matter?

Thanks as always...

Pugs

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sports Authority.
They had the Rapala Sportsmen Series rod for $20.00.

·
Banned
3,747 Posts
The higher the modulous rating, the more sensitive the rod is said to be. IM6 is old school now with the advent of IM8, and IMX technology. 20.00 is about right. I still see some of those rods going for close to 100.00 though. Check out the HM85 stuff. That is primo!

·
Wishin' I'm Fishin'
18,645 Posts
Pugs...
There are decent poles in MANY price ranges.....we all have different 'budgets', so try to find something that fits in yours.
I am NO pole expert, but have bought a few...LMAO,,. yeah, just a few I keep telling myself...lol
Today, often poles are made for specific applications by many manufacturers, and often one type of Graphite may be used for that application, for one reason or another as opposed to others. heck, some companies even make poles today for "crankng" in fiber-glass still, though considered a 'way-outdated' pole material by others, as some crankbaiters like the characteristics it gives .
Some today have a IM6 base, but a IM8 tip....all kind of poles out there today.
ALL rod companies say they are the best ones out there...for the money.
Bass Pro Shops offers many levels of rods for many different price ranges, and I must say I think they are a good value for thier prices, as I have Tourney Specials, Bionic Blades, and Extremes [three of their mid-priced graphite poles], and I like them all, especially for what I paid for each one of them. Often, they are on sale there, and I have taken advantage of those sales to get some deals. My poles range from IM6 to IM8....